Our interactive map isn't compatible with your version of Internet Explorer. Please update IE to the latest version by clicking here. Thank you!

"It's so nice I want to live here." - Alistair Fraser, The Telegraph

Thinking of a Holiday at Glynn Barton

What do the Guests Say ?

Family Holidays

Testimonials

Leave a Testimonial

Reviewed by lottielock

“So good we didnt want to leave”

We have just returned from what I can only describe as a magical week on Glynn Barton farm. The set up was just perfect for our two year old twins and four year old who constantly need entertaining. There is so much to do for children of all ages, they never get bored! The arrangement of the cottages is such that the children regularly get together and play on the communal lawn outside your accommodation. The animal feeding and the organised activities for the children was absolutely brilliant – the stuff that happy memories are made of! Pippa and James (the owners) are amazing with both parents and the children and are very focused on ensuring that you have a brilliant stay. Their attention to detail is seriously impressive! Nothing is too much trouble for them! We all didn’t want to come home by the end of the week which is a true testament to the place! I would highly recommend this to any of my friends with children! Such an awesome place in a beautiful part of the country! Ideally situated to explore some of the best places in Cornwall. We will definitely be back in the future! Thank you for an awesome week!

Highly recommended for young families!

Feb 2018

What a wonderful venue and hosts! 2nd visit with a 5yr and 3 yr old and we all had a brilliant time. The cottage (Bull Run) was very homely and welcoming. Comfy beds & sofa and the kids loved sharing a double room for themselves. The facilities are amazing: indoor warm swimming pool, indoor soft play, outdoor fort and maze to name a few. Plenty to keep kids entertained on dry and wet days. The morning trip to feed the animals with James was a highlight and the kids are still talking about it since leaving. I personally enjoyed meeting James & Pippa and their kids as well as the other families too. The afternoon activities such as Den building and Bamboo Name Plates gave an excellent opportunity to make new friends. Could not recommend highly enough for any family with young kids! A

Perfect in every way

Feb 2018

Wow… What a find! Never been anywhere so perfectly set up for small kids to have fun and adults to chill back! Pippa and James are the perfect hosts… It feels like you’re staying with old friends for a week. They laid on loads of fun stuff like marshmallow toasting, den building and daily animal feeding and made us feel super welcome and looked after. They even provided calpol and paw patrol plasters for a late night emergency with our daughter! Really can’t rate the facilities or, especially, the lovely hosts and friendly community vibe highly enough. Gutted to leave, can’t wait to return. Thanks so much Pippa and James… You guys are amazing!

Blissful mid-winter treat – our escape to the divine Glynn Barton

Dec 2017

To our children’s absolute delight (they shrieked when we told them we were going), we decided this year to escape again to the blissful surroundings of Glynn Barton Cottages for an end of the year/New Year get away, and it didn’t disappoint! We had an absolutely blissful, restorative, refreshing, fun and indulgent five days. Pippa and James couldn’t have been better hosts, not least with their with a really warm welcome, thoughtful help with baby gear for our newborn (cot and steriliser), friendly engaging animal feeding (our 9 year old son still bounces out of bed to be up in time for this every day – his highlight this year was grooming Sooty and Sweep the donkeys, though stroking goats and being in with the sheep and chickens came a close second) – and festive marshmallow roasting, hot chocolate and mulled wine around the New Years eve campfire (our nearly teenage daughter was just as enthusiastic about second and third helpings of marshmallows as the smaller ones:-). The days naturally unfolded with lots of time spent onsite and a few trips out (though the children didn’t want to leave the site:-)) – from animal feeding and swimming on site in the morning to walks in the ‘Gruffalo’ forest from the cottages, in Cardinham Woods locally and on the beaches near Padstow and an outing to the Eden project (ice-skating and saw the lights festival). The swimming pool was wonderfully warm and quiet (felt like our private pool). The Old Stables was a great size for our family of five – we loved the open plan design yet cosy atmosphere and bedrooms on two sides (space for one adult and the other children at least to escape a small but noisy baby). I’m not a regular poster of reviews but we had such a fantastic break that it felt important to feedback. Thank you Pippa, James, Max and Freddie, and all of the animals for a brilliant start to our 2018 – we’ll be back!

Fantastic place for a family country retreat

Feb 2018

Perfectly set out, beautiful grounds, excellent facilities, gorgeous cottages & the most wonderful of hosts to Glynn Barton. James & Pippa made sure that our stay was filled with everything that you’d want for 3 children with bags of energy. From starting off the day feeding all the lovely animals, to a game of tennis, play in the soft play for my younger 2, then visiting some lovely surrounding beaches and areas… finishing off with rainy day arts & crafts and a swim in the heated in door pool. Perfect.

Nigel Homer

Feb 2018

7th visit (!) to these fantasic cottages, albeit the first under new ownership by a fabulously friendly outgoing family. Any fears over things changing etc were very quckly laid to rest. The site is brilliant for children and parents alike, with none of the bulky items that fill up the car needed. Superb swimming pool, tennis, table tennis, and games room plus near-daily animal feeding and superb school-holiday extras like campfire building with marshmallow-melting, den building and bug hotel making. Glynn Barton will continue in what is now, to us, obviously the very safe and warm-hearted hands of James and Pippa.

 

Millie Gollings

Dec 2017

Such a treat for our 4 kiddies to be back at the farm cottages: the pool, soft play, play barn, climbing frames and tractors – they loved it all and are gutted to be home i think! Pippa and James are awesome and having 2 young kids themselves totally understood all our needs. The marshmallow toasting treats and bonfire for new years eve was really fun and a bonus extra they organised for us. We felt refreshed for the school runs today!

Beccy Finch

Dec 2017

Fantastic stay – just what we needed. So many things for children to do on-site, and ideally located within Cornwall for access to both north and south coasts, as well as Eden Project and Lost Gardens. Thank you, Pippa, James, Freddie and Max!

Rebecca O’Mara

Dec 2017

Amazing. Pippa and James are doing a superb job in continuing the high standards set by the previous owners. Perfect holiday for my young family.

Highly recommended for young families!

Feb 2018

What a wonderful venue and hosts! 2nd visit with a 5yr and 3 yr old and we all had a brilliant time. The cottage (Bull Run) was very homely and welcoming. Comfy beds & sofa and the kids loved sharing a double room for themselves. The facilities are amazing: indoor warm swimming pool, indoor soft play, outdoor fort and maze to name a few. Plenty to keep kids entertained on dry and wet days. The morning trip to feed the animals with James was a highlight and the kids are still talking about it since leaving. I personally enjoyed meeting James & Pippa and their kids as well as the other families too. The afternoon activities such as Den building and Bamboo Name Plates gave an excellent opportunity to make new friends. Could not recommend highly enough for any family with young kids!
Reviewed by Amanda T
“Fantastic Family holiday with lovely new owners”
This was our sixth year at Glynn Barton, but our first with the lovely new owners, Pippa and James. Everything that makes for a relaxing and fun holiday with children is still there, (soft play, games room, baby/toddler equipment provided etc) but they have enhanced this already very special place with extras such as an arts and crafts afternoon and marshmallow toasting.The cottages are all lovely, clean and have everything you would need. Most look out onto a central lawn where the children tend to congregate to play which is lovely to see! Good play areas including a wonderful castle fort. The honesty shop has a huge variety of COOK meals which is really handy especially on arrival day. The new owners have also installed an outdoor pizza oven which is really fun for all! The indoor swimming pool is clean and brilliant on rainy days. Animal feeding five days out of 7 is always a hit, and it is lovely to see the children who are shy at first blossom over the week- Pippa and James are amazing with children and have two young boys of their own which really helps.Other new additions since the new ownership include the option to buy and have delivered fresh bread, croissants etc from a local bakery as well as the activity afternoons already mentioned. Babysitting is available too. We had gone to Glynn Barton thinking this would be our last year, as our oldest child is 9, and we thought it was really more geared to younger ones. However, Pippa and James have lots of exciting plans to add some things for older children, without losing the charm and magic for the little ones, and we enjoyed it so much we have booked for our 7th year next year!
Rebecca Lock- July 2018
We have had the best week on the farm. You couldn’t wish for more, it truly is a fantastic place. Everyone is so well catered for and the accommodation is of a high standard, a real home from home. The children are already asking to come back next year! We will be back, thank you x

Nick Woodhill- March 2018

We had a fantastic week at Glynn Barton! The cottages and setting are lovely and it was perfect for our two and four year old boys. They loved the swimming pool, soft play, ride on tractors as well as exploring the local area. The owners Pippa and James were great, working hard to ensure all guests were well looked after. And, the morning animals feeds they ran were a highlight for the whole family. I throughly recommend Glynn Barton, especially for families with toddlers!

Steve Sweet- Feb 2018

Wow… What a find! Never been anywhere so perfectly set up for small kids to have fun and adults to chill back! Pippa and James are the perfect hosts… It feels like you’re staying with old friends for a week.

They laid on loads of fun stuff like marshmallow toasting, den building and daily animal feeding and made us feel super welcome and looked after. They even provided calpol and paw patrol plasters for a late night emergency with our daughter!

Really can’t rate the facilities or, especially, the lovely hosts and friendly community vibe highly enough.

Gutted to leave, can’t wait to return.

Thanks so much Pippa and James… You guys are amazing!