Guest Reviews

Thrilled we chose here!
“What a great time we had here. The cottage was great (we stayed in Grooms), and there’s loads of things to do. Our 2 year old had a fantastic time feeding the animals,swimming in the pool, playing in the Wendy house and using the many cars scooters in the courtyard. A top holiday was had. You won’t regret it. Also, if you’re a keen photographer, look out for the Milky Way. Best viewing I’ve come across in England.”
Happy Guest
November 2018
Amazing stay.
“We found Glynn Barton after deciding to have a family stay in cornwall with our 18 month old. We had an amazing 5 days, perfect for families, and Pippa’s animal feeding sessions were great fun for the children and adults. We are definitely booking up for next year, and have recommended Glynn Barton to several friends & family.”
Happy Guest
September 2018
First family holiday.
“This was our first holiday after the birth of our two children (7months and 23months). Having been before in 2008 I knew how perfect it is for children. It has every possible activity your child could ever want in a super safe and rural environment. Being vets we were especially drawn to the farm animals they keep and it was lovely to see them looked after so well. The added bonus is Eric the cat who may (if you are lucky) pay you a visit.James and Pippa took over this farm recently and are doing a fantastic job. They are both super friendly and helpful and have two lovely young boys.The cottages are well equipped if not a little dated now. But we were very happy and very grateful for the childminding and bakery services!We will coming again in 2019.”
Nick T
September 2018
So good we didn’t want to leave!
“We have just returned from what I can only describe as a magical week on Glynn Barton farm. The set up was just perfect for our two year old twins and four year old who constantly need entertaining. There is so much to do for children of all ages, they never get bored! The arrangement of the cottages is such that the children regularly get together and play on the communal lawn outside your accommodation. The animal feeding and the organised activities for the children was absolutely brilliant - the stuff that happy memories are made of! Pippa and James (the owners) are amazing with both parents and the children and are very focused on ensuring that you have a brilliant stay. Their attention to detail is seriously impressive! Nothing is too much trouble for them! We all didn’t want to come home by the end of the week which is a true testament to the place! I would highly recommend this to any of my friends with children! Such an awesome place in a beautiful part of the country! Ideally situated to explore some of the best places in Cornwall. We will definitely be back in the future! Thank you for an awesome week!”
Lottie Lock
August 2018
Very impressive!
“My family and I came to Glynn Barton for a week at the end of September. Pippa, James and the boys were fantastic hosts and we had a relaxing yet adventurous week. The Cottages are located approximately 30-40 minutes drive from both the north and south coasts, and also the Eden Project, so we spent 4 day off site and 3 within the grounds taking nice walks and using the great on-site facilities (we even got a quick game of tennis in). The laundry room and the on-site shop are great assets, and the facilities throughout are all very well kept. The farm was a highlight for our eldest daughter (3), feeding the animals and collecting the eggs in the mornings. Many thanks, and we look forward to coming back soon.”
Rich Murrell
September 2018
Amazing family holiday!
“Stayed for a week and we had the most amazing time. Pippa and James have thought of everything. So much for toddlers to do (soft play. Outdoor ride on tots amd wendy house with kitchen) and older children also enjoy the castle and the animal feeding. The pool is amazing lovely and warm and indoor The cottage we stayed in was a king and twin. Nice and warm very clean and contained everything you could possibly need for a stay. Baby items such as sterilisers and baby monitors travel cots amd high chairs are all supplied and really cuts down on the packing. A small shop and also laundry room are on site. Tucked away near Cardinham Woods you feel very much in the country however supermarkets and shops are within 10 mins. Directions to Glynn Barton were in our welcome pack and we found them very easily. By far our best holiday yet. See you soon!”
Happy Guest
September 2018
Highly recommended for young families!
“What a wonderful venue and hosts! 2nd visit with a 5yr and 3 yr old and we all had a brilliant time. The cottage (Bull Run) was very homely and welcoming. Comfy beds & sofa and the kids loved sharing a double room for themselves. The facilities are amazing: indoor warm swimming pool, indoor soft play, outdoor fort and maze to name a few. Plenty to keep kids entertained on dry and wet days. The morning trip to feed the animals with James was a highlight and the kids are still talking about it since leaving. I personally enjoyed meeting James & Pippa and their kids as well as the other families too. The afternoon activities such as Den building and Bamboo Name Plates gave an excellent opportunity to make new friends.”
Happy guest
February 2018
We had a fantastic week at Glynn Barton!
"The cottages and setting are lovely and it was perfect for our two and four year old boys. They loved the swimming pool, soft play, ride on tractors as well as exploring the local area. The owners Pippa and James were great, working hard to ensure all guests were well looked after. And, the morning animals feeds they ran were a highlight for the whole family. I throughly recommend Glynn Barton, especially for families with toddlers!”
Nick Woodhill
March 2018
Perfect in every way.
“Wow… What a find! Never been anywhere so perfectly set up for small kids to have fun and adults to chill back! Pippa and James are the perfect hosts… It feels like you’re staying with old friends for a week. They laid on loads of fun stuff like marshmallow toasting, den building and daily animal feeding and made us feel super welcome and looked after. They even provided calpol and paw patrol plasters for a late night emergency with our daughter! Really can’t rate the facilities or, especially, the lovely hosts and friendly community vibe highly enough. Gutted to leave, can’t wait to return. Thanks so much Pippa and James… You guys are amazing!”
Happy guest
February 2018
Brilliant for children and parents alike.
“7th visit (!) to these fantasic cottages, albeit the first under new ownership by a fabulously friendly outgoing family. Any fears over things changing etc were very quckly laid to rest. The site is brilliant for children and parents alike, with none of the bulky items that fill up the car needed. Superb swimming pool, tennis, table tennis, and games room plus near-daily animal feeding and superb school-holiday extras like campfire building with marshmallow-melting, den building and bug hotel making. Glynn Barton will continue in what is now, to us, obviously the very safe and warm-hearted hands of James and Pippa.”
Nigel Horner
February 2018
You couldn't wish for more.
“We have had the best week on the farm. You couldn’t wish for more, it truly is a fantastic place. Everyone is so well catered for and the accommodation is of a high standard, a real home from home. The children are already asking to come back next year! We will be back, thank you x”
Rebecca Lock
July 2018
Fantastic stay – just what we needed.
“So many things for children to do on-site, and ideally located within Cornwall for access to both north and south coasts, as well as Eden Project and Lost Gardens. Thank you, Pippa, James, Freddie and Max!”
Beccy Finch
December 2017
Blissful mid-winter treat – our escape to the divine Glynn Barton.
“To our children’s absolute delight (they shrieked when we told them we were going), we decided this year to escape again to the blissful surroundings of Glynn Barton Cottages for an end of the year/New Year get away, and it didn’t disappoint! We had an absolutely blissful, restorative, refreshing, fun and indulgent five days. Pippa and James couldn’t have been better hosts, not least with their with a really warm welcome, thoughtful help with baby gear for our newborn (cot and steriliser), friendly engaging animal feeding (our 9 year old son still bounces out of bed to be up in time for this every day – his highlight this year was grooming Sooty and Sweep the donkeys, though stroking goats and being in with the sheep and chickens came a close second) – and festive marshmallow roasting, hot chocolate and mulled wine around the New Years eve campfire (our nearly teenage daughter was just as enthusiastic about second and third helpings of marshmallows as the smaller ones:-). The days naturally unfolded with lots of time spent onsite and a few trips out (though the children didn’t want to leave the site:-)) – from animal feeding and swimming on site in the morning to walks in the ‘Gruffalo’ forest from the cottages, in Cardinham Woods locally and on the beaches near Padstow and an outing to the Eden project (ice-skating and saw the lights festival). The swimming pool was wonderfully warm and quiet (felt like our private pool). The Old Stables was a great size for our family of five – we loved the open plan design yet cosy atmosphere and bedrooms on two sides (space for one adult and the other children at least to escape a small but noisy baby). I’m not a regular poster of reviews but we had such a fantastic break that it felt important to feedback. Thank you Pippa, James, Max and Freddie, and all of the animals for a brilliant start to our 2018 – we’ll be back!”
Happy Guest
December 2017
Fantastic Family holiday with lovely new owners.
“This was our sixth year at Glynn Barton, but our first with the lovely new owners, Pippa and James. Everything that makes for a relaxing and fun holiday with children is still there, (soft play, games room, baby/toddler equipment provided etc) but they have enhanced this already very special place with extras such as an arts and crafts afternoon and marshmallow toasting.The cottages are all lovely, clean and have everything you would need. Most look out onto a central lawn where the children tend to congregate to play which is lovely to see! Good play areas including a wonderful castle fort. The honesty shop has a huge variety of COOK meals which is really handy especially on arrival day. The new owners have also installed an outdoor pizza oven which is really fun for all! The indoor swimming pool is clean and brilliant on rainy days. Animal feeding five days out of 7 is always a hit, and it is lovely to see the children who are shy at first blossom over the week- Pippa and James are amazing with children and have two young boys of their own which really helps.Other new additions since the new ownership include the option to buy and have delivered fresh bread, croissants etc from a local bakery as well as the activity afternoons already mentioned. Babysitting is available too. We had gone to Glynn Barton thinking this would be our last year, as our oldest child is 9, and we thought it was really more geared to younger ones. However, Pippa and James have lots of exciting plans to add some things for older children, without losing the charm and magic for the little ones, and we enjoyed it so much we have booked for our 7th year next year!”
Amanda T
September 2018
Wow! What an absolute gem!
“Where to start... there are few places you go these days where the reality is better than you had imagined. We had been recommended Glynn Barton by friends but we didn’t think we would fall in love with it in the way we have done, already booking in for this time next year after just 2 days! James & Pippa could not have been more welcoming or charming hosts for a start… they constantly went the extra mile to make us feel at home, entertain our children and offer the perfect recommendations for excursions to suit our family. We stayed for a week and honestly wish we had booked for a month! The setting alone is worth staying there – truly magnificent views and stumbling distance from both the north and south coast, both of which we visited and would love to explore more on return. We are pretty hard to please beach bums having toured the entire UK coastline and yet we left convinced that we had found the best beaches and cliff paths in Europe never mind the UK by a long stretch. Poldark lovers will be in their element! If there hadn’t been so many brilliant family friendly activities on-site at Glynn Barton, we would have spent the entire week surfing, paddleboarding and bodyboarding but only really spent 2 days away as the cottages were so perfect. This place really does have to be seen to be believed. Even without kids my husband and I would have visited to enjoy the peaceful (yet easily accessible) location, incredible views and all that Cornwall has to offer. I questioned whether to leave a review for others to share in our discovery, or keep it as our own family secret! We haven’t stopped talking about it since we left and literally cannot wait to return. A truly magical place.”
Happy Guest
September 2018
Phenomenal!
“I don't write many reviews but in this case I feel the need to. We have had what I can only describe as our most fun and memorable holiday to date. The property is well located to reach beaches on both the north and south coast and is nestled in a private location down its own driveway whilst at the same time being only minutes from the supermarkets which made life easy and safe. James and Pippa were so sweet to the family throughout. We had daily animal feeding and 4 sessions for our older children of hands on mucking out of all the animals (Wallabys being a highlight) and also brushing down and even bedding down the donkeys. They seem to have thought of everything by way of on site entertainment. We especially loved the swimming pool and the enormous Fort and climbing area. We are already looking forward to another visit next year. Here is hoping for another hot summer. Thanks James and Pippa for a super time.”
Sam S
August 2018
So good we didnt want to leave!
“We have just returned from what I can only describe as a magical week on Glynn Barton farm. The set up was just perfect for our two year old twins and four year old who constantly need entertaining. There is so much to do for children of all ages, they never get bored! The arrangement of the cottages is such that the children regularly get together and play on the communal lawn outside your accommodation. The animal feeding and the organised activities for the children was absolutely brilliant – the stuff that happy memories are made of! Pippa and James (the owners) are amazing with both parents and the children and are very focused on ensuring that you have a brilliant stay. Their attention to detail is seriously impressive! Nothing is too much trouble for them! We all didn’t want to come home by the end of the week which is a true testament to the place! I would highly recommend this to any of my friends with children! Such an awesome place in a beautiful part of the country! Ideally situated to explore some of the best places in Cornwall. We will definitely be back in the future! Thank you for an awesome week!”
Happy guest
February 2018
Fantastic place for a family country retreat.
“Perfectly set out, beautiful grounds, excellent facilities, gorgeous cottages & the most wonderful of hosts to Glynn Barton. James & Pippa made sure that our stay was filled with everything that you’d want for 3 children with bags of energy. From starting off the day feeding all the lovely animals, to a game of tennis, play in the soft play for my younger 2, then visiting some lovely surrounding beaches and areas… finishing off with rainy day arts & crafts and a swim in the heated in door pool. Perfect.”
Happy Guest
February 2018
Amazing.
“Pippa and James are doing a superb job in continuing the high standards set by the previous owners. Perfect holiday for my young family.”
Rebecca O'Mara
December 2017
Such a treat!
“Such a treat for our 4 kiddies to be back at the farm cottages: the pool, soft play, play barn, climbing frames and tractors – they loved it all and are gutted to be home i think! Pippa and James are awesome and having 2 young kids themselves totally understood all our needs. The marshmallow toasting treats and bonfire for new years eve was really fun and a bonus extra they organised for us. We felt refreshed for the school runs today!”
Milly Gollings
December 2017