Our interactive map isn't compatible with your version of Internet Explorer. Please update IE to the latest version by clicking here. Thank you!

"It's so nice I want to live here." - Alistair Fraser, The Telegraph

Thinking of a Holiday at Glynn Barton

What do the Guest Say ?

Family Holidays

feat-testimonial

Testimonials

Leave a Testimonial
Thank you, Steve and Shirley, for the most wonderful holiday (once again!). We will miss the toasty warm pool, the fort, the soft play, the donkeys, the chickens, collecting eggs, feeding the cows, Oscar the cat, the comfy beds, the view across the valley and the trampoline when we get home to Hertfordshire. None of us wanted to go home this morning!
We hope to see you again next year,
With love,
Corinne, Andy, Gen, Margaret and Charlie April 2017

Corinne Nash,
Our 3rd Christmas spent at Glynn Barton Cottages and our kids are still not bored of it! Says a lot! Plenty to do and keep everyone amused even in the wetter and colder days. Always so much fun for the kids and so relaxing for mum and dad. Fab location with most Cornish attractions, activities and landmarks being within one hour drive. Thank you Shirley and Steve for being part of creating the most wonderful memories for our kids.(December 2016)
Sandrine, Windsor
Dear Shirley and Steve

Thank you so much for the special time we had at Glynn Barton last month. The week we spent with you was wonderful and Dylan enjoyed every moment, particularly the animal feeding each morning.

The facilities provided gave us the opportunity to spend some days just relaxing, as there was more than enough to keep us busy.

We look forward to planning our next visit, when baby Lisa will be a bit older and can enjoy all on offer too.

All the best.
Christopher, Marta, Dylan & Baby Lisa. September 2016

Christopher Killops,
Thank you very much to Shirley & Steve for helping to make such a fantastic holiay for us.
Glynn Barto Cottages are outstanding and perfect for a relaxing and enjoyable get-away with young children. The facilities are excellent and exceed all expectations, the cottages are clean,well equipped and beautiful. i will definatly be recommend to others.
Thank you Liam, Laura, George & Henry September 2016

Mr Liam Tinkl, Brighton
This is the first review I have ever written for a holiday, which is testament to amazing time we had at Gylnn Barton in August this year. Many places call themselves 'family friendly' but compared to other holidays they do not come close to the facilities and environment that Glynn Barton provides. Steve and Shirley's friendliness and dedication is clear to see from the moment we arrived and our children loved it, particularly feeding the animals, collecting eggs and the nature afternoon. With a 5 year old daughter and 18 month twin boys we do not often feel 'refreshed' after our holidays but a week at Glynn Barton proved the exception. Many thanks Steve and Shirley, see you in 2017.
Rob Hart,
Our family of three had a wonderful stay at Glynn Barton over the summer. The setting is delightful. Located just outside of Bodmin, it's centrally placed for easy access to the north and south coastal towns of Cornwall with Padstow and Looe al easily accessible. Lanhydrock House and The Eden Project are close by as well. The Glynn Barton cottages are safely away from main roads, so no need to worry about toddlers escaping. It has a small on site soft play centre for the smaller ones (very useful at six thirty in the morning!) It has it's own indoor heated swimming pool, games room with pool table and plenty of toys for children. Little Tikes cars, scooters, tractors aplenty in a walled off area. The morning highlight is taking a walk with Steve and Shirley around the farm area to feed the animals, donkeys, pigs, chickens, cows, sheep. There will be plenty for the kids to do, in the downtime. I was very impressed with the small farm produce shop on site, containing meals, alcohol. and other emergency supplies. Plenty of laundry facilities as well. You will not regret booking a holiday here. Thanks again to Steve and Shirley

Allister Tavner, Summer 2016

Allister Tavner,
Wow, what a special place this is!
We have just returned from Glynn Barton Cottages and have had a fantastic time.
We stayed in The Old Stables with our four children aged 8, 6 & 2 year old twins. Everything we needed was there waiting for us, travel cots, baby monitors, high chairs and much more. The cottage was spotless and we all enjoyed the space it had to offer. The facilities are perfect for all ages. Our older boys loved the castle play area & trampoline the best, where our twins loved the ride on area & softplay. We were all able to enjoy the swimming pool & games room as a family.
One of the best highlights of the day though was feeding the animals in the mornings with Shirley and Steve.
There are so many more things that made this holiday easy & relaxing such as the honesty shop with such a great selection, of meals, icec cream and those few other things you may have forgotten, the washing facliilites, baby sitting service and you can even have your food shopping delivered for when you arrive.
Shirley & Steve have really got it right here and we can't wait to return for another family holiday.

Thank you, we have some great memories.

Debbie, Jason, Harley, Brendan, Elsie & Oliver.

Debbie Parry, Bristol
Thank you very much for a truly fantastic holiday. We have all thouroughly enjoyed ourselvesand all agree that it is the best holiday we have ever been on. The cottage and the facilities are all immaculate and it has been great to have so many activities for the children (and us )to enjoy. The soft play in particular was a real hi, tidying it when they had finished seemed to be as exciting as playing in it,if only that were the case with their toys at home!! Toby loved the Wendy house and being a farmer in the ride on area and Martha became braver during the week attempting the climbing wall on the castle, what a briliant piece of equipment!
We all loved the nature workshopand the children have slept with their dream catchers for the last 2 nights. You engage so well with the childrenand Martha and Toby have loved spending time with you. The animal feeding is such a great way to start the day and the children are very proud of their certificates. They had a great time comppleting the nature trail and exploring the wooded areas. We We loved the different areas and views on the site, particularly the different views from the front and back upside down of Granary.We will definatly be coming back and telling our friends about Glynn Barton, although not too many just in case it means there is no room for us! Thank you once again, Craig, Hannah, Martha & Cat Boy!

Hannah Earl, Warwickshire
We have just returned from our fourth consecutive stay at Glynn Barton, and have already booked for next year! Absolutely everything you could wish for is there, and my children, now aged 7 and 3, say it is the 'best holiday ever!' The cottages are comfortable and well-equipped, the new play area is fantastic, and of course, animal feeding with Steve and Shirley is a highlight ever year. There are too many great things to mention, but you really need to go and experience the magic that is Glynn Barton for yourself. We love it! Thank you for another amazing holiday. Amanda, Giles, Zoe and Hugo xxxx
Amanda Thomas, London
We absolutely LOVE it here. We barely see the kids for dust as they're off enjoying all the facilities, saying hello to all the animals and exploring outside. They sleep very well here! The cottages are incredibly clean and everything is maintained to such a high standard. It is so much easier here than it is at home! Steve & Shirley are just wonderful and we're so pleased we discovered this oasis. If only we lived here!
Emily Beckloff, London
internationalelfservice.co.uk
“Perfect holiday with a Toddler”
Reviewed 9 Jun 2016

We are just on route back to Birmingham after spending a week in the Tack room at Glynn Barton and I can honestly say I feel relaxed for the first time in ages. We arrived in the Friday and were greeted with a very warm welcome. Our key was in the door and ready to go so whilst one of us unpacked the other went with our 2 year old who immediately joined the other toddlers exploring the place. It has everything! A Huge outdoor castle/ playground, a 2 story wooden play house with dinosaurs, a maze, animals, a playroom with lots of toys, a trampoline, an outdoor car play area, a soft play area, an indoor pool and all within secure grounds and easy to get to. Max loved it! The pool is open 9-7 , if you're an early riser like us, the other facilities were available 24/7 and they are always clean and tidy. Our cottage was a 1 bedroom cottage but had ample room for my partner and I and a toddler. Linen was of high quality and the cottage was immaculate. They also offer a maid service in a Tues for a bit of extra help. We were going to order some food online to arrive when we got there but we found that it was just as convenient to go to morrisons or Asda as they were 15 mins drive away. Not only that, but we were informed upon arrival that they have a selection of organic ready meals in their shop where you just help yourself and then pay at the end. Selection included Shepard's pie, fish pie for the little one and a chicken pie which we loved. Really tasty for ready meals and took the pressure of us to worry too much of we didn't do a big shop that evening or wanted something quick. They also have a selection of toiletries, biscuits and Ice Cream. As there are only 8 cottages it is very intimate but we found that most people were parents with little ones of a similar age to Our one or with babies so everyone was very understanding and tolerant of tantrums, late night crying and so on.during the day most families would be out and about so it was very peaceful with gorgeous surroundings for us. It's very tailored around children so you really don't need to take anything. Child friendly plates, high chairs, toys, CBeebies, nappy changer, buckets and spades for the beach, wellies - everything is provided so you barely need to take anything with you. Steve and Shirley also do animal feeding Mon - Fri morning with the little ones. My son loved the knock knock game where the kids knocked on the chicken coup door to find the eggs! We loved this holiday and would definitely come again whenever we just want to relax and kick back a bit - we shall certainly be coming here. Thanks Shirley and Steve. You have a gorgeous place here. Love Leasa, Phil and Max xxxx

Phil Murtagh & Leasa Clarke, West Midlands
Dear Steve & Shirley
Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay at Glynn Barton Cottages. What a special place you have created! From the first day we felt so at home. Bullrun has been the perfect place for us with Elliot. Elliot has loved exploring around the grounds and has completely adored the animal feeding sessions, he talks about it all day. you both make it such a fun family experience and really relaxed,you made me feel so at easewith Elliot feeding the animals. All the facilities on site are fantasticand so well maintainedand cared for, everywhere we when there were always extra detailsyou have thought of from buckets and spades wellies to a box of dinosaurs hiding in the wendy house. We hope to be back with baby #2 one day.

May 2016

Mark & Annika Woolley, Guildford
Twintastic holiday! Don't hesitate in booking a holiday away with your twins (or higher multiples). We've been away several times since the twins were born but this was our first real relaxing, fun and friendly holiday. Our daily routine went something like this: wake up 6am (Mummy /Daddy got a lie-in), breakfast, swapped parent for softplay, donned wellies to feed the animals, feeding the animals, snack time, play outside/inside toys, lunch time, afternoon nap, swimming in the pool, bath time, meal time, bed - wash, rinse, repeat, with the odd day trip thrown in. Bliss. February 2016
Emma, Cheltenham
Another great family holiday at Glynn Barton
Left on Dec 28, 2015 for a stay in Dec 2015
Just back from our 2nd Xmas at Glynn Barton and about to book it again for next year. I never usually go back to the same place as sometimes it is not as good as the first time but this place is different. Everything is perfect for us from hospitality, amenities and location. Shirley and Steve are my kid’s heroes. They are so friendly and take so much pride in their little gem. They add touches to the place every year taking into accounts their guests feedbacks with this year's new addition being the amazing new gigantic play fort that will keep young and especially older kids amused for hours. The grounds are fantastic and everything blends into the nature. Amenities are great fun rain or shine with the indoor swimming pool, indoor soft play, outside ride on toys area, outside climbing frame, outside trampoline, maze, outside tennis court. Lots of dvd’s, games provided. You can finally travel light as all you need is the basics: they provide everything from cot, highchair, baby monitor etc... There is also a laundry room with washing machine (included in price) and dryer (small fee) so no need to pack too many clothes or come back home to a pile of dirty washing. No need to worry about taking the kids for a big shop as you can organise a Tesco delivery around your time of arrival or the store room will give you a wide choice of healthy frozen meals for adults or toddlers. Fresh eggs are sold on site but you also get one or two a day on animal feeding day. You can also have a last minute wine/cider/beer craving all available in the shop. Nappies etc....All sensibly priced. Animal feeding during week days is one of the kids highlights. Very Close are Cardinham Woods for a nice lunch and walk/bike ride or Lanhydrock. Glynn Barton is really well situated if you want to explore Cornwall with all sights and attractions being within one hour or so away. We found that there was so much to do during Xmas time in Cornwall but it takes a bit of research. I would recommend the following: Santa by Steam @ Bodmin Railway (10mn away), Eden Project (check website for special events as some days are better than other with regards to Xmassy events) (20mn away), Mousehole Xmas lights which is 1h10mn away (2 Fore Street is great for a mulled wine and hot chocolate waiting for light to come on at 5pm. they even have a lovely book about mice going on holidays to Mousehole), Angarrack Xmas lights and Winter Woods from Rogue Theatre (50mn away). You would have to book in advance for some of the events as it gets booked up quite quick. If you decide to explore the south coast and visit Penzance, Mousehole, Marazion (St Michael's mount), I highly recommend stopping at Kota Kai in Porthleven for a lovely family meal. They have a family room which is great to wait for your meal and keep your kids entertained. Food is fab and views are on the harbour. Love it! I also recommend Sam's on the Beach in Polkerris for a meal/ dessert/ drink on the way to or from Fowey. Might need to book in advance. There is also a soft play area on the way called "Kidzworld". All in all I highly recommend Glynn Barton and can guarantee you a fantastic stress free (as stress free can be with young kids) family holiday. Thank you Steve and Shirley for giving our kids such wonderful memories!

Sandrine Le Moal, Berkshire
Liebe Shirley, lieber Steve,
herzlichen Dank für die tolle Zeit bei euch! Wir haben sie wirklich sehr genossen und Max war ganz begeistert von euren Tieren, besonders den Hühnern. Es war so schön zu beobachten, wie er von Tag zu Tag mutiger wurde und zum Schluss - sogar ohne Handschuhe :-) - die Tiere gefüttert und die Eier gesammelt hat.
Für uns war Glynn Barton zudem die perfekte Basis, um das wunderschöne Cornwall zu erkunden. Es gibt wirklich so viel zu sehen!
Und auch wenn es eine wirklich lange Anfahrt von Süddeutschland war, wir würden sie jeder Zeit wieder auf uns nehmen, denn es hat sich absolut gelohnt!!!

Viele liebe Grüße aus Deutschland
Familie Schmidt
Oktober 2015, Store House

Dear Shirley and Steve
Thank you so much for the great time we had staying at your place! We enjoyed it so much and Max really loved the animals, especially the chickens. It was so nice to see him getting braver and braver every day during feeding time. And in the end, he even took his gloves off :-)
Furthermore Glynn Barton was the perfect basis for us to explore beautiful Cornwall. There is so much to see!
And even though it was a really long drive from the South of Germany up to you, we wouldn’t hesitate to do it again- it’s absolutely worth it!!!
Best wishes from Germany
The Schmidt family
October 2015, Store House

Caroline Schmidt, Heitersheim Germany
Dear Steve & Shirley
We've had a fantastic time, the girls absolutley loved it and the facilities are brilliant. We hope to be back soon, maybe with the grandparents next time.
Many Thanks Tom,Emma & Girls
September 2015

Emma Dearsley , Ektham London
Hi Steve and Shirley,

Just wanted to say thank you for a fabulous week at Glynn Barton. The cottages are beautiful and the whole site is so well thought out and maintained- and so beautifully lush and green. You obviously work very hard!

Reuben had a brilliant time and we're already planning a second visit next year when Evelyn will be big enough to enjoy all the activities properly! Highlights of our week included Reuben learning to float on his own in the pool, the mini ride on area and the animal picture search round the site- we finally found that snail!

See you again, the Haynes family x

May 2015

________________________________________

Catherine Haynes , Leicester
Thank you for a lovely week last week...

Tristan (almost three) was a little nervous of feeding the chickens and sheep but by the end of the week was so much more confident. Feeding your menagerie was definitely a highlight for him and the wonderfully well equipped (& warm) swimming pool and soft play room were highlights for us all as a family.

Our cottage was well stocked and the Tuesday free maid service was invaluable...

The location was also ideal, we didn't have to travel more than 30 mins to Wadebridge for cycle hire to Padstow, Lappa Valley Railway, Dairyland, The Eden Project or Cornwall's Crealy. we also visited national trust properties, Newquay Zoo and apcal beach... So much to do...


Thank you so much for such an amazing time, Tristan's certificate for animal feeding and egg collection is on the fridge! :)

Lizzie Graves, West Malling, Kent
Granary
My husband & I are members of the charity TAMBA as we have 1 year old twins and a 2 year old daughter. Earlier on this year, I purchased a couple of tickets online for their annual raffle & guess what? We won a holiday!. We won 3 nights at Glynn Barton Cottages in Cornwall.
As soon as I’d got off the phone with TAMBA I looked up the cottages on the internet... It looked absolutely fantastic, very child friendly & perfect for us....

I had a chat with my husband & we decided that if the owners would let us, we would pay for an extra 3 nights as it looked so good. Shirley & Steve (the owners) contacted me and we agreed 6 nights in November.

We arrived in darkness at tea time. As we drove up the long drive way, we spotted rabbits & pheasants, it felt so remote but we knew we were only minutes from a supermarket, a town centre & useful public services should we need them. We’d already done an online shop which was due to be delivered the following day so we’d only needed to bring essentials for 24 hours.

The car park’s only about 50 m from the cottages but they have little pull carts waiting in the car park that you can put your luggage, children or both in :) . When we got to our cottage the keys were in the door & the lights were on to welcome us. We stayed in the ‘Granary’, my first impression was how warm, welcoming and spacious it was. The 2 travel cots were up & ready for our twins and the toddler bed was all made up ready for our eldest (who was very excited about sleeping in a ‘big girls bed’ as she’s still in a cot at home). We had to take our own bedding for their travel cots but you would expect that staying anywhere. The whole cottage was absolutely spotless.

There was a built in stair gate at the top of the stairs but nothing at the bottom. As the bedrooms were downstairs and as we’ve got 3 explorers, I felt that we needed a stair gate at the bottom too (only 3 of the 8 cottages are 2 storey). Shirley came to our cottage to introduce herself and let us know that we could contact her if we needed anything so I asked if they had a stair gate, I also asked if we could have another travel cot to put the twins in upstairs for when we were cooking etc and she brought back a stair gate and a large playpen which was fantastic. All the baby equipment was clean and in excellent working order. There were covers on all the electrical sockets and there’s a bed rail, plastic plates & cutlery and a changing mat in all cottages. If you need highchairs, baby monitors, bottle sterilisers, baby baths or a toddler bed you can just request them before you arrive!. The kitchen was well equipped, there wasn’t anything extra that we needed and we cooked every night (& some mornings :) ) , luckily there’s a dishwasher so we didn’t waste too much precious time in the kitchen, they even had a hand blender which is especially useful if you’re holidaying with babies.

After a really good sleep (the children hadn’t slept as well as they did on holiday for atleast 8 weeks so we were all totally refreshed) we had a cooked brekkie & set off to feed the resident pet animals - Every weekday morning, everyone meets at 9.30 am outside the cottages to hand feed the donkeys, highland cattle, sheep, pigs, goats & chickens. The kiddies absolutely loved it and Shirley & Steve make sure all the children feel comfortable & get involved. Our 3 really looked forward to doing this every morning. Towards the end of our stay, our 2 year old daughter knew all the animals names, in which order they were fed and how you should feed each of the animals, I think she was after a job there so she could stay longer. After animal feeding all the children knock on the chicken coups and Shirley lifts the flap to reveal freshly laid eggs. The children get to pick one up & take one each back to the cottage... It’s lovely to see their little faces light up when they see all the eggs :) .

We then explored the facilities and surroundings and we were very impressed.
There’s an outdoor ‘toddler ride on area’, a TP, an outdoor wooden playhouse, an adventure playground, a maze, an enclosed trampoline, a large toy room with lots of games, books, a pool table, a playhouse and table football,. There’s also a mini football pitch, a tennis court, table tennis, a bright and cheerful heated indoor swimming pool area with showers, changing facilities, a baby change table, lots of swimming floats to use and a playpen at the side of the pool to keep the little ones safe (which we found extremely useful). There’s also a connecting outdoor patio area with sun loungers. You get a key for the pool on arrival which you can use from 9 am until 7 pm. The childrens favourite room (& ours!) was the Soft Play Barn, we could just let them all tumble around and tire themselves out in time for bed whilst we sat on the big comfy sofas watching them giggle and play.

In a building at the end of the lawn and only about 10 m from our cottage was a laundry room, an honesty shop and the bin/recycling room, all were open 24 hours. In the shop there was a selection of home cooked frozen meals, alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks, local produce and other essentials including swim nappies that you can buy individually!. In the laundry room there’s 4 washing machines and 2 tumble dryers. It’s free to use the washing machines (take your own washing powder) but there’s a small fee to use the tumble dryers but the fee gets donated to charity. In the laundry room there’s also spare wellies in all sizes, in case you need them or have forgotten your own (we made use of this as our daughter stepped into a ‘deeper than expected’ rock pool and soaked hers). There’s also buckets, spades, fishing nets and a wind break that you can use for a day at the beach etc..

The weather was mixed whilst we were there (well it was November) but this is a holiday that even the weather can’t spoil as there’s just so much to do indoors as well as out....Although I would love to visit again in the Summer months as there’s 2 BBQ areas, lawns to play on and tables and chairs to sit out, enjoy the scenery and watch the children have fun.

There were breaks in the rain so we did take the opportunity to explore a little bit of Cornwall. We took a picnic, a bucket, spade & net and visited Polzeath Beach (approx 45 mins) where we did some rock pooling, water splashing and sand eating :/ . It’s a lovely sandy beach with some good rock pools, there’s also a cafe, chip shop, a few shops and toilet facilities .
On another day we went to Padstow (approx 40 mins) and had a look around the harbour, ate fish & chips and ice cream, dreamt about going to the pub and then took the little passenger ferry over to Rock Beach. It’s only a 5 -10 min crossing and it was buggy friendly. We took the single and double stroller over without a problem. It was our childrens first time on a boat & they loved it, we even saw a surfing dog :) . I think if were to do it again though we would park at Rock Beach & get the water taxi to Padstow & back.
One afternoon we did a 3km walk around Cardinham Woods which is only about 1.5 miles from the cottages. It’s a really beautiful wood and a perfect walk for toddlers, it was also very buggy friendly. They had good parking facilities, a cafe, toilets and a play area.
One morning we drove to Tintagel Castle (approx 55 mins).... We bundled the 3 children in to a single and a double stroller, walked down a steep pathway towards the bottom of the cliffs (so steep a couple actually stopped to help me with the stroller which was very kind) and then realised we wouldn't be able to get to the actual Castle as the pathway was too steep and narrow to get up with the strollers.. This upset our eldest daughter as she was extremely excited about visiting a castle so we diffused the situation with a Princess Crown and a cute little Princess Bag. I felt a bit daft for not checking how buggy friendly it was before we set out but the scenery was lovely and we had a nice walk... It certainly blew away the cobwebs!.. I've just looked at the website and it says ‘Its location on top of a cliff also makes it a hazardous attraction and may be unsuitable for those with small children’ Hmmmmm, yes, maybe I should have looked beforehand! :/ .

The location of the cottages is fantastic for exploring Cornwall, there’s lots of beaches and attractions close by but there’s so much on site to keep the children (and grown ups) entertained that you wouldn't even need to get in the car or leave the grounds. In fact whilst we were there, a family arrived in a taxi having travelled by train.

This was by far the most child friendly accommodation I have ever been to, it seems that they have thought about absolutely everything. I’m not usually one for reviews and if I do one it’s usually like ‘good location, nice food’ etc but I do use them myself. I thought this place deserved a detailed review as I know how difficult it can be travelling with little ones and worrying that you've got everything you need and if there’s enough to keep everyone entertained. Shirley and Steve run this place perfectly and make a great team, nothing was too much trouble... We had a fantastic time and I can’t recommend this place enough, we even ended up extending by another night, 3 nights turned in to 7!. We will definitely be back :)”

October 2014

Sarah Bruce, Manchester
Mill House 2014
This was our first visit to Glynn Barton and it certainly will not be our last! We had a wonderful holiday and our 16 month old son absolutely loved all the amazing activities on site. We stayed in the Mill House which is a stunning toddler friendly cottage with fabulous views. Finally the hospitality offered by Steve & Shirley (owners) is second to none. They cannot do enough for their guests and they are brilliant with the children, especially at animal feeding time. A wonderful couple and a very special place.

Susie VDP , Scotland
Tackroom Sept 2014
What a wonderful place. Thomas our 18month old son thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience from the animal feeding to the soft play area. We didnt have to leave the cottages as everything he would need was there. As we had the pool to ourselves everyday Thomas's confidence with water grew and grew. We are looking at availability for next year and hope to return. We cant thank Steve and Shirley enough.

Clare Price , Merseyside
Dear Steve & Shirley,



We just wanted to say a big thank you for the wonderful time we had at Glynn Barton. It was the first time we visited your place and it was truly an amazing experience. Our 15 month-old, Nathan, had a great time and he enjoyed every minute of it (especially the animal feeding and the egg collection)!! The cottage that we were staying was superb and the surroundings incredibly beautiful!!! Glynn Barton is truly THE place to be for family holidays... We will definitely visit you again! Thank you again for everything.



Julia-Vas-Nathan (London) August 2014

Julia Skouta, London
Hi Steve and Shirley,
I just wanted to thank you for a wonderful holiday at Glynn Barton. Sorry we didn't get to see you before we left to thank you in person. We had a wonderful week and the boys just loved it. I don't think we've ever stayed anywhere that is so well equipped and set up for children before. You really have thought of everything! We had two very sad faces saying goodbye to the animals and new friends on Thursday evening. We will certainly be recommending you to all our friends.
Best wishes
Anna, Jim, Jacob and Leo x Storehouse Aug2014

Anna Standing, St. Albans
stay@glynnbarton.co.uk
Thank you so much to Shirley and Steve for a really wonderful holiday. Glynn Barton is idyllic, the cottages beautiful and the whole set up perfect for a very active toddler (and their exhausted parents).
Emma Hart June 2014, Hertfordshire
Me, Annie, Henry and William could not have enjoyed Glynn Barton more. Your cottages, the wider complex and the small touches made for a superb visit. There is a wonderful atmosphere on the farm and I cannot imagine an easier set up for families with young children. We will certainly be back. You are great hosts and the place seems to run so effortlessly - and yet clearly it is maintained by some meticulous hard work.



PS - Henry misses Oscar the Ginger Cat!

Oli Doherty, LONDON
It is twelve years since we first visited Glynn Barton when we treated our son and his family to a holiday in my native Cornwall. The then baby of the family had her fourteenth birthday last month and that family have been back on their own to enjoy the pleasures of life at Glynn Barton. We too have chosen to take a break from our home in Brittany every year around February time when the schools, and universities, in France have a holiday. Lots of the French go to the mountains.

We choose Cornwall and Glynn Barton which we have seen under snow, rain and lots of sun. We have stayed in almost every cottage there is on offer, but for the two of us there is one little perfect one bedroomed cottage we think of as our own place now.

This February(2014) was just about the worst possible time to travel, with flooded roads and gale tossed ferry crossings, but our week at Glynn Barton was just perfect peace and relaxation. Calling on all grandparents - give your children and grandchildren a treat and ever after sneak away on your own to the bliss of a cottage at Glynn Barton.

My husband will be eighty next month, but we hope to keep coming back as long as we can to our little bit of cosy paradise.

Thank you Shirley and Steve

Judith Jensen Morris, France
Hi Steve & Shirley,

Just to say we've had another PERFECT holiday.

Time to have so much fun, recharge our batteries and spend quality time together. As usual Shirley made Rhys feel so important helping with the animal feeding and collecting the eggs; fantastic memories to take away with us..

It's amazing to be able to swim everyday and have the whole pool to ourselves!

The facilities are so amazing our only difficulty is getting Rhys away from the place. We even somehow managed to get our half term work done!

Thanks so much again; we can't wait to come back again in the summer.

Darren, Sharon and Rhys Osborne
February 2014

Sharon Osborne, Pembrokeshire
Shirley and Steve

I just wanted to write and thank you for all that you did to make our week at Glynn Barton so enjoyable.

Lily and Charlie absolutely loved feeding the animals and made full use of the soft play area and the swimming pool.

We found the cottages incredibly comfortable and well equipped which was a pleasure and really helped to make the holiday special.

The huge efforts that you went to on Halloween were incredible

Oct 2013

Gemma , Wandsworth London
We have just come back from an amazing week at Glynn Barton with our 3 year old daughter and 10 week old baby.

The accomodation is fantastic as are Steve and Shirley who couldnt have done anymore to make our stay perfect.

The location of is great for easy access to so many activities, beaches and towns etc.

We are just about to re book for next year!

Jane Ward, Bournemouth
This was a great place to stay with our two young children.

Top notch facilities and great friendly service by the owners.

I wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Stuart Telfer, United Kingdom
Dear Steve and Shirley

Thanks for a lovely week.

We have just had a wonderful week at Glynn Barton Cottages (August 2013) with our five-year-old and two-year-old grandsons, plus our daughter and son-in-law. We cannot recommend the site more highly as an exciting, safe and fascinating environment for young children. Our two-year-old grandson soon learned the term ‘soft play’, and loved spending time in this area both with his elder brother and with children around his own age.

Other loved areas were the safe walled courtyard equipped with a wide variety of pedal cars and other vehicles, the playroom with its many and varied toys and games, the excellent swimming pool (the press button warm shower after swimming was an additional treat!), the well designed trampoline – perfect for young children – and the children’s playground, with varied equipment to suit toddlers as well as older children, including slides of different sizes. Our elder grandson enjoyed all of these facilities, but also the tennis court and swimming lessons (by the end of the week, and three lessons from an excellent private teacher, he was able to swim several lengths of the pool). He also loved table football and having a go on the pool table.

A highlight for both children was the 9.30am Monday to Friday feeding of the cows, sheep, donkey, pigs and chickens, supervised ably by Shirley and Steve. All children were able to take an egg from a hen coop each morning and hand it to Steve or Shirley for safekeeping. The eggs were then distributed and every child brought home a new laid egg for breakfast each day. Hand washing facilities strategically placed around the site were used by all after contact with animals. Another highlight for the five-year-old was an afternoon nature exploration with Shirley, which included finding a stag beetle, and cooking oatcakes over an open fire (also enjoyed by dad!).

There were nesting swallows and house sparrows, plus lots of jackdaws, a pheasant, a couple of green woodpeckers and a buzzard, all on or close to the site. We didn’t have time to take the woodland trail, and we save this experience for another visit.

We had a great day at the superb Eden Project (den making and the Rain Forest dome were the children’s favourites), another riding on the Bodmin and Wenford Steam Railway, plus two days visiting beautiful Cornish beaches. But what made the holiday really successful was the site itself, expertly run by Steve and Shirley, who are lovely, helpful and generous people, and both naturals with young children. The ‘honesty shop’ provided high quality ready meals and excellent local ice cream, and there are excellent facilities for washing clothes and recycling waste. Should you forget them or need extras, there are ample pairs of Wellington boots of different children’s sizes, fishing nets, umbrellas, windbreaks etc for loan. You simply help yourself and return them later. We could not recommend Glynn Barton Cottages more highly.

Bob and Rosemary Jackson,

Leamington Spa Aug 2013

Robert Jackson, Leamington Spa
Dear Steve and Shirley,

We are home, having meandered our way back from Cornwall, and we are still talking about what an amazing time we have had! It really has been a fantastic holiday, and we want to thank you for all the time you have given us at the animal feeding each morning. Edith has loved every minute! We can’t wait to be back with you next Summer!

Thank you again,

Julia, Phil and Edith July 2013

Julia Marshall , Lancashire
Steve and Shirley, thanks so much for another fantastic holiday.

The kids loved it as ever and even Amelia would love to come back for her sixth holiday aged 12!

It's not just for babies and toddlers, we've all had a great time. The odd rainy day proved no issue with indoor swimming, soft play and plenty of Wellies.

We're in danger of moving in permanently! Glynn Barton is what special family holidays are made of..

See you again next time!

Natalie, Jo, Amelia, Oskar and Sid

Natalie Dyson, Horsham, West Sussex
Steve & Shirley,
For the second year running we have had a brilliant holiday at Glynn Barton. It's a real home from home. The set up you have there is amazing and the three boys have enjoyed every minute of their three weeks: swimming lessons, animal feeding & egg collecting, the soft play and ride on areas, the play barn and all the new outdoor toys. The addition of the nature workshops this year was a huge hit - cooking Welsh cakes over a fire and den building being real highlights.

We have also had time to relax, recharge and enjoy some quiet time in a beautiful setting. You are both fantastic hosts, doing absolutely everything possible to make a holiday there a real treasure trove of family memories - thank you!!

Amanda, Lars, Samuel, Caelum & Owyn

Amanda van Mulligen, The Netherlands
July 2013 We have had another outstanding and relaxing holiday! Fantastic location, amazing facilities and a brilliant welcome. Rhys can't wait to get up each morning to feed Muffin and Chocolate! We all can't wait to come back next year; we like it so much we have booked twice!
Sharon, Darren and Rhys Osborne, Fishguard, Pembrokeshire.
Hi Steve and Shirley! It's already a week since I left Glynn Barton, having departed a day before the rest of the family to get home to take my Mum to hospital. I'm a paid up member of the so called 'sandwich generation'!! Anyway, I just wanted to add my own thanks to the very many others I know you receive regularly...and deservedly so!!

Glynn Barton is truly the perfect place for young families to take a holiday...and for accompanying grandmothers! We all loved our cottage (Hayloft) and it had a lovely welcoming feel about it, as did the whole of the Glynn Barton 'complex' (not a good word...makes it sound far too urban..... but I can't think of an alternative!!) Everything was so peaceful and relaxed and with the beautiful views to look out on, it's like a little piece of heaven. I know how hard you work to achieve this. The guests just see the results of your labours, but behind the scenes you have to beaver away constantly to make things work as well as they do. My granddaughter Charlotte absolutely loved feeding the animals of course, and you both manage to look as if you enjoy it as much as the youngsters do!! Considering you go through the same routine at 9.30 am five days a week I think this is pretty good!!!! The other facilities - soft playroom, pool etc. are really fantastic, and I was struck by how wonderfully clean everything is kept. I really couldn't find fault with anything...even if I tried!

Many thanks again for giving us all a lovely holiday and long may Glynn Barton continue to flourish! Hope you have a happy summer and that the sun will put his hat on a bit more frequently! Oh yes, that reminds me of something I meant to say in the last paragraph. It was so wonderful to be able to have some heating in the cottage, despite the fact that the month was May and normally one would expect the heating to have been turned firmly off. We have past experience of this many times over!! It was sheer bliss not to be huddled in a holiday home wearing fleeces and nursing hot water bottles - an extra big thank you for this!!

Kind regards to you both
Claudia

Claudia Nelson,
Hi Steve & Shirley

Just wanted to get in touch and say thank you again for another lovely week at Glynn Barton. Despite the delay in arriving and the boys disappointment at not being allowed to do the Easter egg hunt (not wanting to spread the germs) we still had such a fabulous time. We love the set up you have and it is great to see you putting your own stamp on the place, adding new things for the children to do. The fact that it remains such a small, family-like set up, set in the most beautiful of surroundings makes it a really special place. Thank you for making us feel so welcome and for continuing to provide such a relaxing, child friendly holiday, we really didn't want to leave! Wishing you every success with your venture and we may see you again next year (seriously considering it!!!).

Regards,

Martin, Helen, Ollie & Tommy Rodenby,
Hi Steve & Shirley

Firstly, sorry about taking so long to email you! We just wanted to let you know, we had such an amazing time over new year!

It's such a lovely place and we will definitely be visiting again!! We have told all our friends with children that it is THE place to go!

Hope to see you soon.

Zoe, Chris and Harry x,
Hi Steve & Shirley

We are on our way back now and I just wanted to thank you again for a warm welcome and a lovely stay, we all really enjoyed it and found the cottage very clean and well equipped and the facilities absolutely fantastic!

We hope to come and stay again and will definitely recommend to others.

Many thanks.

Eleanor, Dan, Bella & Archie Wentzell from Bridport,
We wanted to say a huge thank you for yet another fantastic week's holiday last week, the boys are still buzzing!

Thanks again for the fantastic set-up you have made there at Glynn Barton. We can't think of anything more we could want from our holiday and have to say this is the only holiday we've ever repeated, usually enjoying finding something new each year. Now we've been spoilt and could only be disappointed elsewhere so thanks and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Carol, Peter, William and Charlie Wells,
Just to let you know that we had a really lovely holiday with you this month. We are definitely planning on coming again next summer, we just don't know when yet.

It was lovely to see Millie, who is very shy, joining in with feeding the animals, especially the scrum for the feed bucket. We have been home now for a few days and she still keeps talking about it and asking to go to the playroom and the swimming pool! Jon and I also loved being able to play pool while Millie occupied herself in the games room - we haven't played pool for years and I beat Jon for the first time ever! You really do have a lovely environment there for family holidays, especially the extra touches such as the Cook meals.

Thanks again

Ruth Winter,